5.52

In Sketchbook 48, on 20 August 1991,
I pasted in the obituary of one of my favorite teachers,
Donald E. Nichols from the State University of New York at Buffalo…

5.52.49.20Aug91.Mr.Nichols obit - cropped

… a great man, taken from us too soon. His memory lives on in the lives he touched.

2 comments on “5.52

  1. Brian, It is fantastic for me to see this. What wonderful memories for me. Don was my teacher during the 1960s and then my colleague in the UB Art Department from 1971 until is death. When I was in the second year of my MFA studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana, he phoned me on a winter afternoon to say that Joe Reardon, another of my teachers at UB, died and Don was wondering if I would apply for the position replacement for Mr. Reardon. Don was a marvelous and caring teacher and later a dear colleague whom I still miss an a great blessing and influence on me and my design teaching career. Tony Rozak

Leave a Reply

