2.179

St Meinrad and field
From 17 – 23 June 2013, I had the opportunity to take part in the 4th Annual Retreat for Artists held at St. Meinrad Archabbey in St. Meinrad, Indiana hosted by Br. Martin Erspamer, OSB and Br. Michael Moran, CP. There were 30 participants. It was a graced time for me. I felt free to participate in the prayer life of the monks (but was not that great at making the 5 am prayer time!) and take part in and design afternoon studio time. We could choose between making a ceramic tile and drawing. I chose drawing. Some samples of what happened over the next week or two…

abz.ps.2.179. drawing on retreat
Drawing on retreat — 18 June 2013, St. Meinrad, Indiana
On the first full day of the artist retreat, various still life stations were set up around the studio. After doing a couple drawings of the still life near me, I became more interested in the intensity of the people around me “drawing on retreat.”

2 comments on “2.179

  1. debbie webb says:

    I’m really enjoying finding the little details in this drawing…and seeing that you DID draw and or paint more than one still life…am I not seeing three different ones?

    • abz says:

      Actually what is to the right are two of the still life set ups… on the left is just what was on the table… sort of a there it is still life… I love just plopping my self somewhere and drawing what fills the page.

Leave a Reply

